Northern Hospitality Power List 2019 announced

Kuits NRB Top Fifty FDMB North West

The Kuits NRB Top Fifty 2019 was unveiled today at Northern Restaurant & Bar 2019, the hospitality trade exhibition in Manchester. The list featuring a mix of long-established names, up and coming talent, six new entries, and two re-entries. Three special award winners were also revealed, highlighting those operators who have enjoyed a particular stellar year.

The three special achievement awards were presented to Chris Hill of New World Trading Company, John Gyngell & Christian Townsley from North Brew Co and Nisha Katona of Mowlgi Street Food.

Chris Hill, New World Trading Company

Following a further £5.6m investment from NatWest, NWTC has continued an impressive roll-out of over six sites a year. The company continues to build a strong collection of accolades as well as being a fixture in the Sunday Times Fast Track 100.

John Gyngell & Christian Townsley, North Brew Co

Their level of sustained commercial and critical progress in 2018/19 feels both relentless and organic and has been achieved whilst remaining an integral, much-loved part of Leeds’ food and drink community and become huge advocates for ACF in Yorkshire.

Nisha Katona, Mowgli Street Food

Nisha’s latest openings include Manchester’s University Green development earlier this year, with sites confirmed in Sheffield, Cardiff and Leicester and more expansion plans in the pipeline. Nisha was also awarded an MBE for services to the food industry in 2018.

The Kuits NRB Top Fifty 2019 is sponsored by Biffa, Bruntwood, CGA, CPL Online, Jelf, Metis Real Estate, NatWest and RSM UK and is supported by JW Lees.

Kuits NRB Top Fifty 2019

(listed alphabetically by surname and grouped by company)

Adele Ashley, Owner, Filmore & Union

Paul Askew, Chef Patron, The Art School

Rob Bacon, Executive Chef Director, Hickory’s Smokehouse

Jason Bligh, Director, Hickory’s Smokehouse

Neil McDonnell, Managing Director, Hickory’s Smokehouse

John Welsh, Operations Director, Hickory’s Smokehouse

James Baer, Managing Director, Amber Taverns

Gary Roberts, Operations Director, Amber Taverns

NEW ENTRY Richard Bailey, Director, Daniel Thwaites

Craig Bancroft, Managing Director, Northcote

Lisa Goodwin Allen, Executive Chef, Northcote

Tim Bird, Owner, Cheshire Cat Pub & Bars

Mary Mclaughlin, Owner, Cheshire Cat Pub & Bars

Ken Buckley, Managing Director, Bravo Inns

Phil Dearden, Finance Director, Bravo Inns

Sarah Cook, Director, Vaulkhard Group

Harry Vaulkhard, Director, Vaulkhard Group

Oliver Vaulkhard, Director, Vaulkhard Group

Morgan Davies, Founder / CEO, Barburrito

Carlo Distefano, Chairman, San Carlo Group

Marcello Distefano, Managing Director, San Carlo Group

NEW ENTRY Sean Donkin, Managing Director, Inn Collection Group

Ian Goulding, Chairman, Inn Collection Group

Keith Liddell, Executive Deputy Chairman, Inn Collection Group

NEW ENTRY Jane Dowler, Founder, Evuna

Roy Ellis, Director, Mission Mars

Neil Macleod, Director, Mission Mars

Joel Wilkinson, Director, Mission Mars

Adelaide Winter, Director, Mission Mars

John Ennis, Owner, Graffiti Spirit

Matthew, Farrell, Owner, Graffiti Spirit

Jobe Ferguson, Director, Blackdog Ballroom & The Liars Club

Lyndon Higginson, Director, Blackdog Ballroom & The Liars Club

Ross Mackenzie, Director, Blackdog Ballroom & The Liars Club

Kit Graves, Director, Lake District Hotels

Charles Graves, Director, Lake District Hotels

Dani Hope, Sales & Marketing Director, Lake District Hotels

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNER John Gyngell, Director, North Bar / North Brewing Company

Christian Townsley, Director, North Bar / North Brewing Company

Jamie Hawksworth, Owner, Pivovar / The Tapped Brew Co

Jonathon Holdsworth, Founder, Pivovar / The Tapped Brew Co


James Hitchen, Founder, East Coast Concepts

Guy Hitchen, Founder, East Concepts

Chris Hopkins, MD, Hydes Brewery

Marko Husak, Founder, Bundobust

Mayur Patel, Founder, Bundobust

NEW ENTRY Adam Jones, Managing Director, Tattu and Drew Jones, Marketing Director, Tattu

Matthew Jones, Managing Director, Roxy Leisure

Ben Jones, Managing Director, Concept Taverns

Ashley Kollakowski, Rose Four Group

Simon Stevens, Rose Four Group

Barry Ladhar, Crafted Projects

Michael Ladhar, Crafted Projects

NEW ENTRY Bob Lawson, Chairman, Ossett Brewery Pub Company and Jamie Lawson, Owner, Ossett Brewery Pub Company

Terry Laybourne, Owner, 21 Hospitality Group

William Lees Jones, Managing Director, JW Lees

Simon Lees Jones, Director, JW Lees

NEW ENTRY – Daniel Murphy, Director, Gracious Development Group

Ryan McMahon, Director, Gracious Development Group

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNER – Nisha Katona, Founder, Mowgli Street Food

Tomas Maunier, Director, Fazenda Rodizio Bar & Grill

Robert Melman, Director, Fazenda Rodizio Bar & Grill

Paul Moran, Managing Director, Living Ventures

Jeremy Roberts, CEO, Living Ventures

Lucy Nelson, Sales & Marketing Director, Nelson Hotels

Andrew Nelson, Operations Director, Nelson Hotels

Joycelyn Neve, Managing Director, Seafood Pub Company

Andrew Pern, Owner / Executive Chef, The Star at Harome/Star Inn The City

Steve Pilling, Co Owner, Damson Group

RE-ENTRY – Rob Pitcher, CEO, Revolution Bars Group

Jonathan Poole, Director, Red and Blue

Paddy Smith, Director, Red and Blue

Simon Potts, Managing Director, The Alchemist Bar & Restaurant

Oliver Robinson, Managing Director, Robinson’s Brewery

William Robinson, Director, Robinson’s Brewery

Simon Rogan, Co Owner, Umbel Restaurant Group

RE-ENTRY – Matt Snell, Managing Director, Gusto

Chris Soley, Chief Executive, Camerons Brewery

David Soley, Chairman, Camerons Brewery

Chris Ure, Owner, Arc Inspirations

Martin Wolstencroft, Managing Director / Owner, Arc Inspirations

Gary Usher, Owner, Elite Bistros

Steven Walker, CEO, Individual Restaurants

James Warburton, James’s Places

Andrew Wildsmith, Founder, Wildsmith Hotels

PHOTO: Thom Hetherington, Nisha-Katona, Tony-Lyons